Monday, May 11, 2009

Living The UnAmerican Nightmare

Poverty is still at an all time high in America. 39.9 million people live below the poverty line in America. Including 12.9 million children. According to the Bread for the World Institute 3.5 percent of U.S. households experience hunger. Some people in these households frequently skip meals or eat too little, sometimes going without food for a whole day. 9.6 million people, including 3 million children, live in these homes. The United States of America is one of the world's richest nations and we got families living in poverty. Everyday I drive pass a housing project filled with mainly black families. Living in poor housing conditions, some maybe getting assistance from the government for food and some maybe on public housing assistance but, if you walk about 1000 feet from that housing project there is a gated community of half a million dollar homes and town houses. You would think that you were living in surburbia. See that makes me ANGRY and if I feel angry i wonder what those families living in the housing projects feel? I wonder if anyone else is angry or even think about this same situation. If you ask me i think it maybe racially motivated. Does the government really care about it's citizens? Watching television doesnt make it any better. I saw President Obama spending $7,000 on a jungle gym for his children. When it's families loosing their homes, can't afford to pay rent for the month, lights got turned off because they had to buy food for their children, people living with no heat in their homes with winter temperature outside and the president is courtside at a basketball game with a beer or playing one on one with his assistant. This angers me terribly. I know the president can't make things better overnight but, does he really know the struggle of some AMERICANS? Does he really know what going on in the hood and what will happen if summer comes and there is still no jobs and unemployment continues to rise? Does President Obama really know the struggles of the American People? I dont think he does. Why is medication for senior citizens which is so needed for them so expensive but you can go to the corner store and pay $4 for a pack of cigarettes or pay $1 for a blunt? It's so easy to just kill yourself but, what about people on medication who need their medication to live and they cant afford it? Why is there still so many Americans without healthcare? Why do I have to pay $715.39 for a 5 minute ride to the hospital in the back of an ambulance truck? Why is it that 63% of african american children raised in a single parent home? why so many young mother's get $700 foodstamps a month and the government told my elderly neighbor he mad $2 too much in Social Sercurity and he didnt qualify for food stamps? Why milk cost the same as a gallon of fucking gas? Why do I pay taxes and I don't know where my money is going? Why do we vote to put government officials in a higher position when they do nothing for the american people? Why the government spend billions on a senseless war and war veterns are living homeless? Why People can't afford to live? Why one job dont pay you enough to pay all your bills at one time? Why when payday come around government take out more taxes and companies take out more insurance then what I actually get paid? Have you ever seen Uncle Sam? if so, what that muthafucka look like and why am I paying this son of a bitch and I don't know him? And once again what the fuck is he doing with my money? If he cant show me what he doing with my money why should i be paying him? Uncle Sam is a rich and heartless muthafucka getting all this bread and won't feed the hungry children living in poverty. I guess it's true the richer gets richer and the poor gets poor. I guess the millions of americans living below the poverty lines aren't americans cause we not living "THE AMERICAN DREAM"

2 comments:

  1. So many whys? but no real why's. You are right, we are so worried about other countries and other issues, but never about our own back yard. the sad part is the kids coming up in poverty are the ones lost to gang members, drug use and even in our jail system. we all see the problem, but noone is trying to give a soulution. what about the bs leave no child behind bill? what has that done for us? the kids in the hood suffer, why? cause our schools were crap to start with and now you put more demands on the schools (if they dont have a passing grade as a whole they close the school down) so what are they doing? making kids better test takers, not learing. the only thing we have going for us as minorities is affirmative action and they are talkin about taking that away from us and when and if they do, then what? we are officially chopped and screwed.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is truly indeed A SAD ASS SORT OF AFFAIRS!! My family was barely making ends meet but we made due with what we had. I was raised by a militant, revolutionary Black FATHER. Born & raised in Durant,Missisippi in the '30's.Civil rights marcher,and yet served in the US Army. He paid many a price & paved a way. Notice, I said "a way". To what? I asked myself when I watched as they lowered him into the ground.NOT THIS!! In Oct.2008, my mother was diagnosed with colon cancer. We were told she would have to have chemo for six months. We STRUGGLE EVERY WEEK to pay $215.13 so she can LIVE. That's the 20% Medicare doesn't pay.Refill day is Thurs. Do we sit in the dark or get her meds? President Obama PLEASE write me an uplifting speech to tell the light co. or my MOM PLEASE!!!

    ReplyDelete